AOS Logo: American Ornithological Society

You are here

AOS Katma Award

The Katma Award

Robert Storer.jpgThe Katma Publication Award recognizes papers proposing ideas or testing theories that replace current dogma or settled opinion and that could change the course of thinking about the biology of birds. Papers may also include those that propose a largely untested idea or those that develop and advance it. The award may be given to research articles, short communications, or commentaries (including editorials and reviews) of any length published in any scientific venue within the two preceding years. This unique award was established by the Cooper Ornithological Society in 2003 through a generous gift of the late Robert W. Storer.

The Katma Award is given only when it is merited, no more than once a year. The award consists of a $2500 prize plus a certificate and is announced at the society's annual meeting. Papers with one or two authors are preferred; nomination of papers with several co-authors must specify the contribution of each. Self-nominations are eligible for consideration. The 2019 nomination cycle will open on Monday, October 14.

For questions regarding the Katma Award, contact committee chair Michael Murphy via Please use the subject line "AOS Publications Award - Inquiry Regarding Katma Award."

2019 Winners: Benjamin Winger, Giorgia Auteri, Teresa Pegan, and Brian Weeks »
Previous Recipients »

See all AOS Publications Awards.

Welcome to the American Ornithological Society (AOS)
Advancing Scientific Knowledge and Conservation of Birds

© 2019 American Ornithological Society