AOS Logo: American Ornithological Society

You are here

AOS Johnson Award

Ned K. Johnson Early Investigator Award

Photo of Ned K. Johnson

The Ned K. Johnson Early Investigator Award (formerly "...Young Investigator Award") recognizes outstanding and promising work by a researcher early in his or her career in any field of ornithology. It consists of a certificate, $1000 honorarium, and a travel stipend of up to $1000 and gratis registration to attend the annual meeting. Awardees are also invited to give a plenary at the annual meeting.

The Ned K. Johnson Early Investigator Award is funded through a gift to the AOS endowment honoring Ned K. Johnson, a lifelong supporter and former AOU President (1996-1998).

2019 Winner: David Toews »
Previous Recipients »

Candidates may apply for the award themselves, may be nominated by another member(s) of AOS, or may be added to the slate of candidates by the Early Professional Awards Committee. Annual awardees are selected by the Early Professional Awards Committee. The AOS Awards committees strive to develop a balanced annual slate of nominees that represent the Society and the diversity of its members.

The successful candidate/nominee will excel in research and show distinct promise for leadership in ornithology within and beyond North America. In addition, they must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Be a member of AOS.
  • Have received their doctorate degree within 4-7 years of their nomination. (An extra year of eligibility may be granted for parental leave.)
  • Have not received the award previously.

For questions regarding the Ned K. Johnson Young Investigator Award, please contact the Committee chair, Katie Dugger, via Please use the subject line "Early Professional Awards - Inquiry Regarding  ____."

Welcome to the American Ornithological Society (AOS)
Advancing Scientific Knowledge and Conservation of Birds

© 2019 American Ornithological Society