AOS Logo: American Ornithological Society

You are here

AOS Senior Professional Awards

The American Ornithological Society (AOS) bestows four prestigious awards on its members in recognition of outstanding contributions to ornithological science. See more AOS Awards.

Nominations for these awards will be accepted 15 October 2018 through 14 December 2018 at 5:00 PM EST.

Members are encouraged to submit nominations of deserving colleagues for AOS’s senior professional awards to the chair of the AOS Senior Awards Committee. Please review the nomination guidelines carefully.

For questions regarding Senior Awards, contact the committee chair, Keith Hobson, via Please designate the subject line as the following: "AOS Senior Professional Awards - Inquiry Regarding ____"

The AOS Awards committees strive to develop a balanced annual slate of nominees that represent the Society and includes the diversity of its members.

William Brewster Memorial Award

An award given annually to the author or co-authors of an exceptional body of work on birds of the Western Hemisphere.
Read award details »

Elliott Coues Award

An award given annually that recognizes outstanding and innovative contributions to ornithological research.
Read award details »

Lloye and Alden Miller Research Award

An award given annually for lifetime achievement in ornithological research.
Read award details »

Ralph W. Schreiber Conservation Award

An award given annually that honors extraordinary scientific contributions to the conservation, restoration, or preservation of birds and/or their habitats.
Read award details »

Welcome to the American Ornithological Society (AOS)
Advancing Scientific Knowledge and Conservation of Birds

© 2018 American Ornithological Society