AOS Logo: American Ornithological Society

You are here

AOS Governance

The American Ornithological Society (AOS) is governed by a 12-member Council and four officers (President, President-Elect, Treasurer and Secretary), all elected by the membership. The Council’s Executive Committee and Executive Director make day-to-day decisions related to the on-going business of the society, and committees carry out much of the on-the-ground work. The Council makes final decisions on policy, budget, and new activities or directions. AOS’s Fellows approve changes to the Bylaws. For more information, contact us.

Nominations for AOS Officers and Elective Councilors must be received by the AOS Secretary four months before the Stated Meeting. Nominations may be submitted in writing or electronically. Officers are elected by electronic and postal ballot prior to the annual meeting, and new officers are announced at the meeting. The AOS Bylaws require that the Secretary and Treasurer be elected or re-elected annually. Of the total of twelve Elective Councilors, four are elected annually to serve terms of approximately three years, beginning at the close of the Stated Meeting. The procedure for nominating AOS Officers and Elective Councilors is outlined in the AOS Bylaws (Art IV, Sec 2).

AOS Bylaws approved 2016 (PDF)

AOS Code of Professional Conduct (PDF)

AOS Non-Discrimination Policy (PDF)

AOS Diversity Statement (PDF)

AOU 990 IRS Form for Public Disclosure, Fiscal Year 2015 (PDF)

Biographies of AOS Officers and Elective Councilors (PDF)


Steve Beissinger (
Dept. of Environmental Science, Policy & Management, University of California Berkeley


Kathy L. Martin (
Dept. of Forest and Conservation Sciences, University of British Columbia


Andy Jones (
Cleveland Museum of Natural History


Rebecca Kimball (
Dept. of Biology, University of Florida

Executive Director

Melinda Pruett-Jones (
Chicago, IL

Elective Councilors

Colleen Handel (
Jim Rivers (
Rebecca Safran (
Patricia Heglund (

Elizabeth Derryberry (
Katie Dugger (
Kevin E. Omland (
Viviana Ruiz-Gutierrez (

Melissa S. Bowlin (
Renee A. Duckworth (
Scott V. Edwards (
Nathaniel T. Wheelwright (

Editor of The Auk: Ornithological Advances

Mark E. Hauber (
Department of Psychology, Hunter College

Editor of The Condor: Ornithological Applications

Philip C. Stouffer (
School of Renewable Natural Resources, Louisiana State University

Editor of Studies in Avian Biology

Kate Huyvaert (
Dept. of Fish, Wildlife, and Conservation Biology, Colorado State University

Non-Profit Disclosure Statement

The American Ornithological Society files its required information and tax returns (IRS Form 990) with the IRS each year. Form 990 allows the IRS and the public to evaluate nonprofits and how they operate. IRS Form 990 ensures that nonprofits disclose any potential conflicts of interest, compensation of board members and staff, and other details having to do with financial accountability and avoidance of fraud. Three years of AOS’s Form 990 are made available for the public on our website.

Welcome to the American Ornithological Society (AOS)
Advancing Scientific Knowledge and Conservation of Birds

© 2017 American Ornithological Society