AOS Logo: American Ornithological Society

You are here

AOS Cooper Award

James G. Cooper Early Professional Award

The James G. Cooper Early Professional Award (formerly "...Young Professional Award") recognizes early-career ornithological researchers for their outstanding contributions in any field of ornithology. It consists of a certificate, $500 honorarium, and a travel stipend of up to $1000 and gratis registration to attend the annual meeting. Awardees are also invited to give a plenary at the annual meeting. The award is named in honor of James G. Cooper, a pioneering naturalist and ornithologist in the western regions of North America.

2019 Winners: Karan Odom & Kyle Horton »​
Previous Recipients »

Candidates may apply for the award themselves, may be nominated by another member(s) of AOS, or may be added to the slate of candidates by the Early Professional Awards Committee. Annual awardees are selected by the Early Professional Awards Committee. The AOS Awards committees strive to develop a balanced annual slate of nominees that represent the Society and the diversity of its members.

The successful nominee will excel in research and show distinct promise for leadership in ornithology within and beyond North America. In addition, they must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Be a member of AOS.
  • Be within/up to the end of their third year post terminal degree (Master's or PhD) or in the final nine months of their graduate studies at the time of the annual meeting. (An extra year of eligibility is granted for parental leave.)
  • Have not received the award previously.

For questions regarding the James G. Cooper Awards, please contact the Committee Chair Katie Dugger via Please use the subject line "Early Professional Awards - Inquiry Regarding  ____."

Welcome to the American Ornithological Society (AOS)
Advancing Scientific Knowledge and Conservation of Birds

© 2019 American Ornithological Society