AOS Logo: American Ornithological Society

You are here

2016 Katma Award

The Katma Award is intended to encourage the formulation of new ideas that could change the course of thinking about the biology of birds. This award, proposed and sponsored by Dr. Robert W. Storer, is to be given to the author(s) of an outstanding paper related to ornithology that offers unconventional ideas or innovative approaches, backed by a well-reasoned argument.

The Cooper Ornithological Society is pleased to present the 2016 Katma Award to six scientists—Drs. Muhammad Asghar, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden; Dennis Hasselquist, Lund University, Lund, Sweden; Bengt Hansson, Lund University; Pavel Zehtindjiev, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria; Helena Westerdahl, Lund University; and Staffan Bensch, Lund University—for their paper “Hidden costs of infection: Chronic malaria accelerates telomere degradation and senescence in wild birds” which appeared in 2015 in Science (347:436–438).

Welcome to the American Ornithological Society (AOS)
Advancing Scientific Knowledge and Conservation of Birds

© 2019 American Ornithological Society